Events in our system are self-managed.  Group and event managers are encouraged to review privacy and security settings, and adjust them if needed.  If you need assistance please contact Indico Support - contact Help at bottom of page.

May 18 – 19, 2023
University of Victoria
Canada/Pacific timezone

This symposium will celebrate the scientific career and legacy of Werner Israel, one of the leading figures in the development of our modern understanding of general relativity and black holes. Among many impactful contributions, Werner proved the foundational no-hair theorems for the exterior of static black holes, and later the phenomenon of mass inflation for the interior of rotating black holes (with his student E. Poisson); he devised the Israel junction conditions for extended gravitating sources, and developed the causal Muller-Israel-Stewart theory for relativistic thermodynamics and hydrodynamics. 

The symposium will be held in hybrid format on the campus of the University of Victoria, in Victoria BC, and will run over two full days May 18-19, 2023. The evening of May 18th will include a reception followed by a conference dinner.

In celebrating Werner's remarkable scientific legacy, the symposium aims to bring together researchers with interests aligned with various themes of Werner's research, both historical and modern. To this end, the focus of the meeting will be on properties of black holes and relativistic matter.

Invited Speakers

  • Ahmed Almheiri (NYUAD)
  • Patrick Brady (UW-Milwaukee)
  • Elena Georgi (Columbia)
  • Ruth Gregory (King's College London)
  • Gary Horowitz (UCSB)
  • Ted Jacobson (Maryland) 
  • Christoph Kehle (ETH Zurich)
  • Jess McIver (UBC)
  • Sharon Morsink (Alberta)
  • Carolyn Raithel (IAS Princeton)
  • Misao Sasaki (Tokyo,Kyoto)
  • Derek Teaney (Stony Brook)
  • Bill Unruh (UBC)
  • Amos Yarom (Technion)

Alert about spam communication - please be aware that some registrants have received spam emails requesting information about travel to Victoria and offering support for hotel reservations. 

Local Organizing Committee

Nikita Blinov, Kristan Jensen, Pavel Kovtun, Eric Mefford, Adam Ritz, Karun Thanjavur

Scientific Advisory Committee

Valeri Frolov (Alberta), Shinji Mukohyama (Kyoto), Julio Navarro (UVic), Eric Poisson (Guelph), Frans Pretorius (Princeton)


University of Victoria
BWC A104