Events in our system are self-managed.  Group and event managers are encouraged to review privacy and security settings, and adjust them if needed.  If you need assistance please contact Indico Support - contact Help at bottom of page.

Feb 15 – 18, 2022
America/Vancouver timezone
WNPPC2022 Booklet has been added. See also information about today's special guest: Dr. Eden Hennessey

Investigating the Nuclear Shell Evolution in Neutron-Rich Calcium

Feb 17, 2022, 1:48 PM


Nuclear Structure Nuclear Physics


Robin Coleman (University of Guelph)


Nuclei away from the line of stability have been found to demonstrate behavior that is inconsistent with the traditional magic numbers of the spherical shell model. This has led to the concept of the evolution of nuclear shell structure in exotic nuclei, and the neutron-rich Ca isotopes are a key testing ground of these theories; there have been conflicting results from various experiments as to the true nature of a sub-shell closure for neutron-rich nuclei around $^{52}$Ca. In November of 2019, an experiment was performed at the ISAC facility of TRIUMF; $^{52}$K, $^{53}$K, and $^{54}$K were delivered to the GRIFFIN gamma-ray spectrometer paired with the SCEPTAR and the ZDS ancillary detectors for beta-tagging, as well as DESCANT for neutron-tagging. Using this powerful combination of detectors we combine the results to construct level schemes for the isotopes populated in the beta-decay. Preliminary results from the analysis will be presented and discussed in the context of an N=32 shell closure in neutron-rich nuclei.

email address
Please select: Experiment or Theory Experiment

Primary author

Robin Coleman (University of Guelph)


A. Talbitaher (University of Regina) Adam Garnsworthy (TRIUMF) Dr Alex Laffoley (University of Guelph) Ms Allison Radich (University of Guelph) Andrew MacLean (University of Guelph) Dr Bruno Olaizola (TRIUMF) C. Paxman (TRIUMF) Prof. Carl Svensson (University of Guelph) Ms Carlotta Porzio (TRIUMF) Dr Christopher Griffin (TRIUMF) Mr Connor Natzke (Colorado School of Mines) Prof. Corina Andreoiu (Simon Fraser University) Daniel Yates (TRIUMF) Ms Fatima Garcia (Simon Fraser University) Frank (Tongan) Wu (Simon Fraser University) Prof. Fred Sarazin (Colorado School of Mines) Gordon Ball (TRIUMF) Ms Grace Carpenter (TRIUMF) Harris Bidaman (University of Guelph) Iris Dillmann (TRIUMF) Mr K. Whitmore (Simon Fraser University) Ms M. Hanley (Colorado School of Mines) Marco Rocchini (University of Guelph, Guelph, Canada) Matthew Martin (Simon Fraser University) Prof. Paul Garrett (University of Guelph) R.S. Lubna (TRIUMF) Mr S. Shadrick (Colorado School of Mines) Ms Samantha Buck (University of Guelph) Shivani Sharma (University of Regina) Soumendu Sekhar Bhattacharjee (TRIUMF) Ms Victoria Vedia (TRIUMF) Dr Vinzenz Bildstein (University of Guelph) tammy zidar (university of guelph)

Presentation materials